Error message

Warning: symlink(): No such file or directory in _collageformatter_image_file_check() (line 919 of /var/www/home/che/public_html/sites/all/modules/contrib/collageformatter/collageformatter.module).
Home >> Content >> Academics

Academic Year

The Academic Year is divided into two semesters of at least 16 weeks each, exclusive of registration and final examination periods. A summer session of six weeks follows the second semester. Each semester consists of at least 100 class days. Class work in the summer session is equivalent to class work in one semester. The first semester usually begins in August, the second semester in January, and the midyear session in June. All academic units of UP Diliman operate under the semestral system, except the evening graduate program of the College of Business Administration which is under the trimestral system.


Course Numbering

In general, courses in the lower division (freshman and sophomore years) are numbered 1-99; courses in the upper division (junior and senior years) are numbered 100- 200; and graduate courses are numbered 201 to 400. Courses numbered 301 and above are generally professional courses in the doctoral program.


Credit Unit

The unit of credit is the semester hour. Most classes taught at the University meet three hours a week; these classes carry 48- 50 clock hours of instruction and three units of credit. Each unit of credit is at least 16 semester-hours of instruction. A lecture unit of credit is equivalent to one hour a week for 16 weeks while a laboratory unit of credit is equivalent to three hours per week laboratory for 16 weeks.


Academic Load

For undergraduate students, the academic load is a maximum of 18 non-laboratory units, or 21 units including laboratory, except in programs where the normal semestral load is more than 18 units. However, a graduating student with very good academic record may be permitted to carry a heavier load in his last year. During the summer session, the normal load is six units, but in justifiable cases, the Dean may allow enrollment up to nine units. On the graduate level, full-time students are allowed the normal load of 12 units or a maximum load of 14 units. During summer session, the normal load is 6 units. A graduate student employed on a fulltime basis is allowed an academic load of not more than 10 units in any semester, unless he has the prior approval of the Dean for a heavier load.


Medium of Instruction

English is generally used as a medium of instruction. The University Council of UP Diliman voted in January 1989 to adopt Filipino as a medium of instruction at the undergraduate level. A few courses at this level are now taught in Filipino. At the graduate level, Filipino shall be initiated and/or sustained as a non-exclusive medium of instruction. English, however, shall still be maintained as a medium of instruction.


Language Policy

The University has a bi-lingual language policy. Most college courses are conducted in English but there are sections in a number of courses which are conducted in Filipino.


Revitalized General Education Program (RGEP)

The GE Program was first adopted in 1958 [203rd UC Meeting, June 21, 1958] and underwent several revisions thereafter. In 2001, the GE Program was revitalized. The Revitalized GE Program (RGEP), premised on freedom of choice and no prerequisites, was implemented 1st semester AY 2002- 2003. The RGEP framework requires that students take 15 units in each of the 3 domains of knowledge - Arts and Humanities, Social Sciences and Philosophy, and Mathematics, Science and Technology - 6 units of which must be in Philippine Studies, to be taken from any of the domains. The CHE has additional requirements for its different programs and students are advised accordingly.


National Service Training Program (NSTP)

The NSTP is a program aimed at enhancing civic consciousness and defense preparedness in the youth by developing the ethics of service and patriotism while undergoing training in any of its program components. Its various components are specially designed to enhance the youth’s active contribution to the general welfare of the nation. The NSTP Act of 2001 requires all male and female students enrolled in any baccalaureate or in at least two (2)-year technical/vocational or associate courses to complete the equivalent of two (2) semesters of any one of the NSTP components listed below as a requisite for graduation: * Reserve Officers’ Training Corps (ROTC) * Literacy Training Service (LTS) * Civic Welfare Training Service (CWTS) State universities are required to offer ROTC and at least one other NSTP component. The CHE offers CWTS for its students. CHE students render service to institutions surrounding UP Diliman.


Classification of Students

Undergraduate and graduate students are classified as regular and non-regular. Regular undergraduate students follow organized programs of study and comply with requirements which lead to the bachelor’s degree or undergraduate diploma/certificate. They carry the full semestral load called for by their respective curricula, and for registration and classification purposes, are divided generally into freshmen, sophomores, juniors and seniors. Regular graduate students are prospective candidates for the master’s or doctoral degree. They may be either part-time or full-time students. Non-regular students are: (1) non-degree students, with credits; (2) non-majors, with credits: (3) cross registrants, with credits; or (4) special students, without credit.